Welcome to Rend Lake College Library Guides: Economics

 

 

This guide provides resources about economics that can be used when completing assignments or doing a research project.  In order to use the subscription resources found in this guide, you must have a current Rend Lake College staff or student login which is the log in information you would use to access the Electronic Library.  

  

---

  

Books:  In order to find books that you can check out, click on RLC catalog in the Electronic Library.  You can search by title, author, or subject.  If you click the limit by drop down box, you can choose my library which will let you see books that the RLC LRC has on the shelf.

   

 The Encyclopedia of Money                    Larry Allen     2009     332.403 AL531e

 

  Rich & Poor in America                                        Geoffrey Gilbert     2008     339.2 Ge72r

 This is Who We Were 1940 Census                    Greyhouse Pub.     2012     330.973 D445t

 

                    

                    This is Who Were in the 1950s                            Greyhouse Pub.     2013     330.973 D445t 1950s

 

 This is Who We Were in the 1960s                     Greyhouse Pub.     2013      330.973 D445t 1960s

  

---

 

 

  

Databases: (found on the Learning Resource Center website - https://www.rlc.edu/learning-resource-center)

 

 

• Credo Reference (use encyclopedias link)
• Business Source Elite (use EBSCO link)
• EBSCOhost (use magazines and journals link)
• JSTOR (historial articles) (use magazines and journals links)
• Omnifile Full Text Select (use EBSCO link)
• SIRS (use magazines and journals link)

 

 

---

 

 

Ebook Titles: (found in EBSCO ebooks)

 

 

Use the Electronic Library magazines and journals link to find the EBSCO databases.  Ebooks is one of the databases within EBSCO. You will be able to read the book full-text on your device. 

 

• American in Decline
• Big Media, Big Money: Cultural texts and Political Economics
• Business Ethics
• Death and Life of the Music Industry in the Digital Age
• The Decline in Saving: A Threat to American's Prosperity
• Developing Women Leaders in Corporate America: Balancing Compteting Demands, Transcending Traditional Boundaries
• Googlization of Everything: (and Why We Should Worry)
• The Knockoff Economy: How Imitation Spurs Innovation
• Marketing in the 21st Century and Beyond: Timeless Strategies for Success
• Muddling Toward Frugality: A New Social Logic for a Sustainable World
• PR for Anyone: 100+ Affordable Ways to Easily Create Buszz for Your Business
• Spending Spree: The History of American Shopping
• World energy Crisis
• Zero-Carbon House

 

 

---

   

 

Magazines and Newspapers: 

 

The titles listed below are print ones that can be found in the Rend Lake College LRC as well as within several databases.  Where indicated, these titles can only be found on a database called Business Source Elite. 

 

• Bloomberg's Business Review
• Forbes
• Fortune
• Inc
• North American journal of economics and finance (found in Business Source Elite database)
•  Review of economics and statistics  (found in Business Source Elite database)
• Time
• USA Today
• Wall Street Journal

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

---

  

Videos: (videos in Films on Demand database on EL)

 

You can find these titles by clicking the Film on Demand database link on the LRC website and then doing a search for the title.

 

• Addicted to Cheap Shopping? Why the Real Cost of Goods Keeps Going Down

 

• The Ascent of Money: A Financial History of the World 

 

• Growth and Inflation, Part 2 / International Aspects / National Currency Reform: 97 Percent Owned

 

• How Is Money Created? / Growth and Inflation, Part 1: 97 Percent Owned From Series: 97 Percent Owned: How Unlimited Credit Creation Brought About the Great Recession

 

• Saving and Investing

 

• Managing Money: Living Skills

 

• Masters of Money: Three Economists Who Changed the World

 

• Money Talks: The Influence of Money in American Politics

 

---

 

Websites:

 

Bloomberg - http://www.bloomberg.com/

 

Bureau of Labor Statistics - http://www.bls.gov/

 

CNN Money - http://money.cnn.com/news/economy/

 

The Economist - http://www.economist.com/

 

Federal Reserve - http://www.federalreserve.gov/

 

Financial Times - http://www.ft.com/home/uk

 

Money magazine - http://time.com/money/

 

Money Week - http://moneyweek.com/

 

MSN Money Converter - http://investing.money.msn.com/investments/currency-converter-calculator

 

USA Today - http://www.usatoday.com/money/

 

---

Citing Information:

As with any resources used in writing, you will need to create a citation to include with your paper or assignment.  Here is a good source that you can use for examples of how to cite various formats of information.

 

     https://owl.english.purdue.edu/ 

 

 

You can also call for help with citing:

 

RLC Writing Center, (618) 437-5321 ext. 1312

Reference Librarian, (618) 437-5321ext. 1276