http://tinyurl.com/oh7xujr

Welcome to Rend Lake College LRC Library Guides:  Botany

Definition: A branch of biology dealing with plant life.  (Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, 11^th ed., 2003.)

Databases    

(please use the Electronic Library to access these databases (www.rlc.edu/electronic-library).

AMNH scientific series

BioMed Central

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)

High Wire

JSTOR

Serials Solutions

CredoReference

Books: (in Rend Lake College LRC)

When looking for books in the LRC you can use the RLC catalog - http://search.illinoisheartland.org/default.aspx?ctx=195.1033.0.0.1.  You can search by title, author, or subject.

New York Botanical Garden Illustrated Encyclopedia of Horticulture – 635.03 EV27n

Hydroponic Food Production – 635.0485 R311h

Dirr’s Handy Trees & Shrubs – 635.9 D63dh

Dirr’s Trees & Shrubs for Warm Climates – 635.9 D63d

Annuals & Perennials: A Gardener’s Encyclopedia – 635.9 An787

The Complete Plant Selection Guide for Landscape Design – 635.903 St65c

Ball Pest & Disease Manual – 635.92 P8716

Ball RedBook, 16 ed. – 635.982 B21

Permaculture: Principles & Pathways beyond Sustainability – 631.58 H739p

Ebooks:

Salem Science

10.

Marijuana Legalization : What Everyone Needs to Know

Full Text Available

eBook

By: Caulkins, Jonathan P. New York : Oxford University Press. 2012. eBook.

Subjects: SELF-HELP / Substance Abuse & Addictions / General; PSYCHOLOGY / Psychopathology / Addiction; Marijuana--Law and legislation--United States; Marijuana--United States; Drug legalization--United States

 

Guide to Information Sources in the Botanical Sciences

Full Text Available

 

eBook

By: Davis, Elisabeth B.; Schmidt, Diane. In: Reference Sources in Science and Technology. Edition: 2nd ed. Englewood, Colo : Libraries Unlimited. 1996. eBook.

Subjects: REFERENCE / Bibliographies & Indexes; Botany--Bibliography; Botany--Reference books--Bibliography; Botany--Information services--Directories; Botany--Databases--Directories

 

 

eBook

 

 

By: Allaby, Michael. In: Oxford paperback reference. Edition: 2nd ed. [N.p.] : Oxford University Press. 1998. eBook.

Subjects: NATURE / Plants / General; SCIENCE / Life Sciences / Botany; Botany--Dictionaries

Film:

Films on Demand

The Once Good Earth: Understanding Soil - "The Once Good Earth: Understanding Soil." Films On Demand. Films Media Group, 2005. Web. 7 Apr. 2014. http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=26067&xtid=36191. 

"Of Apes and Men: The Culmination of Darwin's Research." Films On Demand. Films Media Group, 2008. Web. 7 Apr. 2014. http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=26067&xtid=40625.