| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!

View
 

Botany

Page history last edited by Beth Mandrell 7 years, 11 months ago

 

 

 

Rend Lake College LRC Library Guides:  Botany

 

 

 


 

 

Databases    

(please use the Electronic Library to access these databases (www.rlc.edu/electronic-library).

 

AMNH scientific series

BioMed Central

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)

High Wire

JSTOR

CredoReference

 


 

 

Books: (in Rend Lake College LRC)

 

When looking for books in the LRC you can use the RLC catalog.  You can search by title, author, or subject.

 

 

Annuals and perennials : a gardener's encyclopediaAnnuals & Perennials: A Gardener’s Encyclopedia – 635.9 An787

 

 

Ball Pest & Disease Manual – 635.92 P8716

 

Ball redbookBall RedBook, 16 ed. – 635.982 B21

 

The complete plant selection guide for landscape designThe Complete Plant Selection Guide for Landscape Design – 635.903 St65c

 

Dirr's Hardy trees and shrubs : an illustrated encyclopediaDirr’s Handy Trees & Shrubs – 635.9 D63dh

 

Dirr's trees and shrubs for warm climates : an illustrated encyclopediaDirr’s Trees & Shrubs for Warm Climates – 635.9 D63d

 

Hydroponic food production : a definitive guidebook of soilless food-growing methods : for the professional and commercial grower and the advanced home hydroponics gardenerHydroponic Food Production – 635.0485 R311h

 

 

The names of plants The Names of Plants - 580.14 G478n

 

New York Botanical Garden Illustrated Encyclopedia of Horticulture – 635.03 EV27n 

Permaculture : principles & pathways beyond sustainabilityPermaculture: Principles & Pathways beyond Sustainability – 631.58 H739p

 


 

Ebooks:

Salem Science

 

 

Marijuana Legalization : What Everyone Needs to Know

Full Text Available

Book Jacket

eBook

By: Caulkins, Jonathan P. New York : Oxford University Press. 2012. eBook.

Subjects: SELF-HELP / Substance Abuse & Addictions / General; PSYCHOLOGY / Psychopathology / Addiction; Marijuana--Law and legislation--United States; Marijuana--United States; Drug legalization--United States

 

Guide to Information Sources in the Botanical Sciences

Full Text Available

 

Book Jacket

eBook

By: Davis, Elisabeth B.; Schmidt, Diane. In: Reference Sources in Science and Technology. Edition: 2nd ed. Englewood, Colo : Libraries Unlimited. 1996. eBook.

Subjects: REFERENCE / Bibliographies & Indexes; Botany--Bibliography; Botany--Reference books--Bibliography; Botany--Information services--Directories; Botany--Databases--Directories

 
 

Book Jacket

eBook

 

By: Allaby, Michael. In: Oxford paperback reference. Edition: 2nd ed. [N.p.] : Oxford University Press. 1998. eBook.

Subjects: NATURE / Plants / General; SCIENCE / Life Sciences / Botany; Botany--Dictionaries

 


 
  

Film:

Films on Demand

The Once Good Earth: Understanding Soil - "The Once Good Earth: Understanding Soil." Films On Demand. Films Media Group, 2005. Web. 7 Apr. 2014. http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=26067&xtid=36191

 

"Of Apes and Men: The Culmination of Darwin's Research." Films On Demand. Films Media Group, 2008. Web. 7 Apr. 2014. http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=26067&xtid=40625.

 


 

Websites: 

 

Botanical Society of America - http://botany.org/

 

Careers in Botany - http://www.botany.org/bsa/careers/

 

Library of Congress, Botany - http://www.loc.gov/search/?q=botany

 

Smithsonian Institute Department of Botany - http://www.botany.si.edu/index.htm

 


Please use information ethically

 

Citing information used in research -

 

When using print or electronic sources within research papers, it is important to avoid plagiarism by giving the author of those resources credit for their work. Citing sources on a works cited or reference page will allow you to do this. Your instructor may give you instructions to follow when creating a works cited or reference page or you may find the following link useful for citation examples.

 

 

MLA & APA Style:

 

Purdue University Online Writing Lab - http://owl.english.purdue.edu/

 

 

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.