| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!

View
 

Green

Page history last edited by Beth Mandrell 10 years, 2 months ago

 

http://checkmaid.com/blog/save-green-clean-green-live-green/

 

Welcome to Rend Lake College Library Guides:  Green

 


Topic Pages (found on Credo Reference)

 

  1. Acid Rain
  2. Adaptation (Biology)
  3. Air Pollution
  4. Atmosphere
  5. Climate change
  6. Deforestation
  7. Ecology
  8. Ecosystem
  9. Endangered species
  10. Environment
  11. Environmentalism
  12. Global warming
  13. Greenhouse effect (Atmospheric)
  14. Green movement
  15. Habitat (Ecology)
  16. Ozone
  17. Ozone layer
  18. Pollution
  19. Smog
  20. Sustainability
  21. Sustainable development
  22. Water pollution

 

 


Articles (found in Credo Reference)

  1. Conservation Biology. (2012). In The Princeton Guide to Ecology. Retrieved from http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/prge/conservation_biology/0?result=6
  2. Environment and Environmentalism: An Overview. (2010). In Encyclopedia of American Studies. Retrieved from http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/jhueas/environment_and_environmentalism_an_overview/0?result=1
  3. Green Movement. (2001). In World of Sociology, Gale. Retrieved from http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/worldsocs/green_movement/0?result=0
  4. Sustainability. (2000). In Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology. Retrieved from http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/wileyenvsci/sustainability/0?result=0

 


Ebooks (found in Credo Reference)

  1. American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present
    http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ghael?tab=overview
    american_environmental_leaders
  2. Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology
    http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/wileyenvsci?tab=overview
    dictionary_of_environmental_science_and_technology
  3. The Dictionary of Physical Geography
    http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/bkphsgeo?tab=overview
    dictionary_of_physical_geography
  4. McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
    http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/mhscience?tab=overview
    mcgraw-hill_dictionary_of_scientific
  5. Macmillan Dictionary of Toxicology
    http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/mactox?tab=overview
    macmillan_dictionary_of_toxicology
  6. The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management
    http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/bkeeem?tab=overview
    encyclopedia_of_ecology_and_environmental_mgmt
  7. The Encyclopedia of Ecotourism
    http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/cabiecotour?tab=overview
    encyclopedia_of_ecotourism
  8. Encyclopedia of Energy
    http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estenergy?tab=overview
    encyclopedia_of_energy
  9. McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
    http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/conscitech?tab=overview
    mcgraw-hill_concise_encyclopedia
  10. The Environmental Debate: A Documentary History
    http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ghed?tab=overview
    environmental_debate
  11. Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics
    http://literati.credoreference.com/content/title/abcgetlp?tab=overview
    globalization
  12. Guide to Global Hazards
    http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/philipsglobalhaz?tab=overview
    guide_to_global_hazards
  13. Handbook of Environmental Sociology
    http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/gwenvsoc?tab=overview
    handbook_of_environmental_sociology
  14. Handbook of Global Environmental Politics
    http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgargep?tab=overview
    handbook_of_global_environmental_politics
  15. A Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy: National Government Interventions in a Global Arena
    http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarhgep?tab=overview
    handbook_of_globalisation
  16. International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
    http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routenvpol?tab=overview
    intl_encyclopedia_of_environmental_politics
  17. The Princeton Guide to Ecology
    http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/prge?tab=overview
    princeton_guide_to_ecology

 

 

 

Databases: (found on the Electronic Library)

  

  1. Academic Search Premier
  2. AMNH Scientific Series (American Museum of Natural History Scientific Publications)
  3. AtoZ Maps Online
  4. BioMed Central
  5. Credo Reference
  6. DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
  7. EBSCOhost
  8. E-Journals
  9. Encyclopedia Britannica
  10. ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
  11. Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
  12. High Wire
  13. JSTOR

 

 


Books (found in the Rend Lake College catalog but not all owned by RLC)

 

An Inconventient Truth: a global warming. 

  1. Anderson, M. E. (Ed.) (2013). Pioneers of the Green Movement: Environmental solutions. New York, NY: Britannica Educational Pub.
    pioneers_of_the_green_movement
  2. Begley, E. (2009). Ed Begley, Jr.'s guide to sustainable living: Learning to conserve resources and manage an eco-conscious life. New York, NY: Clarkson Potter/Publishers.
    ed_begley_jr
  3. Desonie, D. (2007). Atmosphere: Air pollution and its effects. New York, NY: Chelsea House Publishers.
    atmosphere
  4. Espejo, R. (Ed.) (2013). Adaptation and climate change. Detroit, MI: Greenhaven Press.
    adaptation_and_climate_change
  5. Gallant, R. A. (2002). Atmosphere: Sea of air. New York, NY: Benchmark Books
    atmosphere_sea_of_air
  6. Haerens, M. (2011). Air pollution. Detroit, MI: Greenhaven Press/Gale Cengage Learning.
    air_pollution
  7. Harmon, D. E. (2002). The Environmental Protection Agency. Philadelphia, PA: Chelsea House Publishers.
    environmental_protection_agency
  8. Health Effects Institute. Panel on the Health Effects of Traffic-Related Air Pollution. (2010). Traffic-related air pollution: A critical review of the literature on emissions, exposure, and health effects / HEI Panel on the Health Effects of Traffic-Related Air Pollution. Boston, MA: Health Effects Institute.
    traffic-related_air_pollution
  9. Klein, V. (2010). 48 things to know about sustainable living. Nashville, TN: Trade Paper Press.
    48_things
  10. Miller, D. A. (Ed.) (2010). The Green Movement. Detroit, MI: Greenhaven Press.
    green_movement
  11. Parks, P. J. (2012). The Green Movement. San Diego, CA: ReferencePoint Press.
    green_movement_2012
  12. Raven, P. H. (2008). Environment. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley.
    environment
  13. Reitze, A. W. (2001). Air pollution control law: Compliance and enforcement. Washington, DC: Environmental Law Institute.
    air_pollution_control_law
  14. Schneider, S. H. & Root, T. L. (2002). Wildlife responses to climate change: North American case studies. Washington, DC: Island Press.
    wildlife_responses_to_climate_change
  15. Schwartz, J. &. Hayward, S. F. (2007). Air quality in America: A dose of reality on air pollution levels, trends, and health risks. Washington, DC: AEI Press; Blue Ridge Summit, PA: Distributed to the trade by National Book Network.
    air_quality_in_america
  16. Silverstein, A. S., Silverstein, V. & Nunn, L. (2008). Adaptation. Minneapolis, MN: Twenty-First Century Books.
    adaptation
  17. Smith, S. J. (2011). The young activist's guide to building a green movement + changing the world. Berkeley, CA: Ten Speed Press.
    young_activists_guide
  18. Tullock, J. H. (2012). The new American homestead: Sustainable, self-sufficient living in the country or in the city. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley ; Chichester: John Wiley [distributor].
    new_american_homestead
  19. Beavan, C. (2009). “Epilogue: Life After the Year Without Toilet Paper.” In C. Beavan, No Impact Man: The Adventures of a Guilty Liberal Who Attempts to Save the Planet, and the Discoveries He Makes About Himself and Our Way of Life in the Process (pp. 211-226). New York, NY: Farrar, Straus and Girouxf.
    no_impact_man
  20. Carson, R. D. (1962). “The Obligation to Endure.” In R. D. Carson, Silent Spring (pp. 5-14). New York, NY: Mariner Books.
    silent_spring
  21. Matheson, C. (2008). Green Chic: Saving the Earth in Style. Naperville, IL: Sourcebooks.
    green_chic

 


Videos (found in the RLC catalog but not all owned by RLC)

 

 

  1. An Inconvenient Truth: a global warning (2006)

     An inconvenient truth [videorecording] : a global warning      

  1. Adapting to Changes in Nature (1996)
  2. American Experience: Earth Days (2010)
    american_experience
  3. An Inconvenient Truth (2006)
    an_inconvenient_truth
  4. Design E2: The Economies of Being Environmentally Conscious (2006)
    design_e2
  5. Global Climate Change (2008)
    global_climate_change
  6. Going Green: A Comprehensive Guide (2008)
    going_green
  7. The New Economics 101: True wealth in the new economy, a lecture by Juliet Schor (2013)
    new_economics_101
  8. Nova: Becoming Green - Growing Environmental Awareness (2008)
    nova
  9. Planet Earth: The Complete Series (2007)
    planet_earth
  10. Y.E.R.T: Your Environmental Road Trip (2012)
    yert

 


Feature Films (Found in the RLC catalog but not owned by RLC)

  1. Avatar (2009)
    avatar
  2. Soylent Green (1973)
    soylent_green
  3. Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home (1986)
    star_trek_iv
  4. The China Syndrome (1979)
    china_syndrome
  5. Erin Brockovich (2000)
    erin_brockovich
  6. Silkwood (1983)
    silkwood
  7. Free Willy (1993)
    free_willy
  8. Fly Away Home (1996)
    fly_away_home
  9. Gorillas in the Mist: The Story of Dian Fossey (1988)
    gorillas_in_the_mist

 


Documentary Films (found in the RLC catalog but not all owned by RLC)

  1. Global Warming: The Signs and the Science (2005)
    global_warming
  2. Koyaanisqatsi - Life Out of Balance (1983)
    koyaanisqatsi
  3. March of the Penguins (2005)
    march_of_the_penguins
  4. Blue Gold: World Water Wars (2009)
    blue_gold
  5. Frontline: Poisoned Waters (2009)
    frontline
  6. A Crude Awakening - The Oil Crash (2007)
    a_crude_awakening
  7. Who Killed the Electric Car? (2006)
    who_killed_the_electric_car
  8. Ken Burns: The National Parks - America's Best Idea (2009)
    ken_burns

 

 


Additional Resources from the Internet

 


Books, Articles, and Websites

  1. Brand, S. (2000). “Reframing the Problems.” In S. Brand, Clock Of The Long Now: Time And Responsibility: The Ideas Behind The World's Slowest Computer (pp. 131-136). New York, NY: Perseus Books.
    clock_of_the_long_now
  2. Drash, W. (2010, June 15). Brown Pelican Long a Symbol of Survival. Retrieved from CNN.com: http://www.cnn.com/2010/US/06/15/louisiana.brown.pelican/
  3. ecoAmerica. (2009). Climate and Energy Truths: Our Common Future. Washington, DC: eco.america.org.
  4. Hayes, S. (2010, February 1). Meet the Radical Homemakers. Retrieved from Yes! Magazine: http://www.yesmagazine.org/happiness/meet-the-radical-homemakers
  5. Jensen, D. (2007). As the World Burns: 50 Simple Things You Can Do to Stay in Denial. New York, NY: Seven Stories Press.
    as_the_world_burns
  6. Martin, C. (2010, May 17). The Population Debate Gets Personal. Retrieved from The American Prospect: http://prospect.org/article/population-debate-gets-personal-0
  7. Weisman, A. (2005, February 6). Earth Without People - What would happen to our planet if the mighty hand of humanity simply disappeared? Retrieved from Discovermagazine.com: http://discovermagazine.com/2005/feb/earth-without-people

 


Other Feature Films

Godzilla vs. The Smog Monster (2012)
godzilla_vs_the_smog_monster

 

 


Other Documentary Films

  1. Yellowstone: Battle for Life (2009)
    yellowstone
  2. Addicted to Plastic (2009)
    addicted_to_plastic

 



Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.