| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!

View
 

Speech

Page history last edited by Beth Mandrell 8 years, 11 months ago

http://receptiontoasts.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/istock_000004506807xsmall.jpg

 

Welcome to Library Guides: Speech

 

This library guide can be used to find useful resources pertaining to speech and communication.


 

Databases:

 

Databases provide more accurate information than using the Internet.  The articles you find in the databases have been reviewed.  The databases listed below can be found on the Electronic Library (link in the side bar), under “magazines/journals”.

 


 

 

Video Clips:

 

Grimm Public Speaking Book -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URkFAnSvGk4&feature=player_detailpage

 

 Persuation Presentation: Blood Donation - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Asa3fwQnxRg

 

 


Searching for Books:

 

 

Books on speech and communications can be found in the nonfiction and reference collection.  The reference collection does not circulate.   

Books may be found by using the IPAC (Public Access Catalog).  You can find the card catalog on the computers along the wall by the circulation desk as well as access though the “Find Books” link on the Electronic Library. 


 

Video recordings:

 

Another effective resource at Rend Lake College is the video/DVD collection.   Below are titles that relate to speech/communications.  The videos/DVDs are available at the circulation desk for use in the library.  *Make sure to have the call numbers listed below.*

  • “The Power of Speech” –  Call Number (808.51 P871) – Number 33
  •  “Making the Speech” – Call Number (808.5 M289) – Number 129
  • “Keys to Effective Speaking” – Call Number (808.5 K423) – Number 421
  •  “Ceremonial Speaking” – Call Number (808.51 C334) – Number 222

 

Searching Journals:

 

The Rend Lake College Learning Resource Center (LRC) currently subscribes (or has past subscriptions) to the following speech/communications journals or magazines:

  • Kenyon Review
  • Vital Speeches
  • Writer

 

These periodicals can be found in the Reference department.  They do not circulate but a copier is available should you need copies of articles. Contact Beth Mandrell at Ext. 1276 if you need more information.


 

Evaluating Web Sources:

 

An excellent, brief guide to better internet searching is:

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/healthywebsurfing.html


Websites:

 

Speeches - http://www.unc.edu/depts/wcweb/handouts/speeches.html

How to Deliver Effective Speeches - http://www.ehow.com/how-to_4845368_deliver-effective-speeches.html

Speech Topics, Help, Advice, & Ideas - http://www.speech-topics-help.com/persuasive-speeches.html

                                                                                                                                                              


Citing Sources:

 

MLA Style:

 

Purdue University Online Writing Lab - http://owl.english.purdue.edu/

 

Guide to citing resources - MLA citations.doc

 

 

APA Style:

 

Citing Sources using the APA Manual (6th edition) - http://www.nova.edu/library/dils/teachinghandouts/apa/APA_6th_ed.pdf

 

Guide to citing resources - coll writers APA.docx

 


Contact Us:

 

Give the library a call if you need help finding any of these resources.  

 

Library Hours:

7:30 am - 7 pm Monday - Thursday

7:30 am - 4 pm Friday

 

(618) 437-5321

Circulation - 1308

Collection Development - 1249 

Reference - 1276

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.